VA - Edo Funk Explosion Vol. 1 (DOLP)

33,90 €*

Info / Tracklisting: Comes in a gatefold cover with a 20-page booklet
and a high quality wav/mp3 download code

Lagerbestand: 3
SKU#: 100-004-03244
Produktinformationen "VA - Edo Funk Explosion Vol. 1 (DOLP)"
It was in Benin City, in the heart of Nigeria, that a new hybrid of intoxicating highlife music known as Edo Funk was born. It first emerged in the late 1970s when a group of musicians began to experiment with different ways of integrating elements from their native Edo culture and fusing them with new sound effects coming from West Africa´s night-clubs. Unlike the rather polished 1980´s Nigerian disco productions coming out of the international metropolis of Lagos Edo Funk was raw and reduced to its bare minimum. Someone was needed to channel this energy into a distinctive sound and Sir Victor Uwaifo appeared like a mad professor with his Joromi studio. Uwaifo took the skeletal structure of Edo music and relentless began fusing them with synthesizers, electric guitars and 80´s effect racks which resulted in some of the most outstanding Edo recordings ever made. An explosive spiced up brew with an odd psychedelic note known as Edo Funk. That‘s the sound you‘ll be discovering in the first volume of the Edo Funk Explosion series which focusses on the genre’s greatest originators; Osayomore Joseph, Akaba Man, and Sir Victor Uwaifo: Osayomore Joseph was one of the first musicians to bring the sound of the flute into the horn-dominated world of highlife, and his skills as a performer made him a fixture on the Lagos scene. When he returned to settle in Benin City in the mid 1970s – at the invitation of the royal family – he devoted himself to the modernisation and electrification of Edo music, using funk and Afro-beat as the building blocks for songs that weren’t afraid to call out government corruption or confront the dark legacy of Nigeria’s colonial past.
Tracklisting: A1 Africa Is My Root – Osayomore Joseph And The Creative Seven
A2 Ta Gha Hunsimwen – Akaba Man & The Nigie Rockets
A3 Popular Side – Akaba Man And The African Pride

B1 Iranm Iran – Sir Victor Uwaifo And His Titibitis
B2 Sakpaide No 2 – Sir Victor Uwaifo And His Titibitis
B3 Ta Ghi Rare – Akaba Man & The Nigie Rockets

C1 My Name Is Money – Osayomore Joseph
C2 Ogbov Omwan – Akaba Man & The Nigie Rockets
C3 Aibalegbe – Sir Victor Uwaifo And His Titibitis

D1 Who No Man – Osayomore Joseph And The Ulele Power Sound
D2 Obviemama – Sir Victor Uwaifo And His Titibitis
D3 Ororo No De Fade – Osayomore Joseph And The Ulele Power Sound
Release Date: 2021
Label: Analog Africa
Genre: Soul/Funk
Warengruppe: DOLP

0 von 0 Bewertungen

Geben Sie eine Bewertung ab!

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen mit dem Produkt mit anderen Kunden.