VA - Soul Jazz Records Presents Studio One Women (DOLP)

34,90 €*

Info / Tracklisting:

Studio One Women features a wide mix of classics and obscurities from
the finest female voices in reggae.

Lagerbestand: 3
SKU#: 100-004-00542
Produktinformationen "VA - Soul Jazz Records Presents Studio One Women (DOLP)"

Limited Edition,

Special Coloured Vinyl

Studio One Women is in the series of Studio One compilations released by Soul Jazz Records. Ska, rocksteady, funky reggae, roots, dub mixes, disco mixes, they're all here from the queens of the Jamaican music scene. Studio One Women features a wide mix of classics and obscurities from the finest female voices in reggae.
Until now most of these tracks have only ever been available as extremely hard to find Jamaican 7 inch and 12 inch singles and even if you were lucky enough to find them they'd cost you a small fortune!
Marcia Griffiths and Rita Marley (here with her first group The Soulettes) are two of Jamaica's most famous female singers hugely popular today. Both these artists became internationally famous as The I – Threes (along with Judy Mowatt), Bob Marley's backing singers alongside The Wailers.
Also featured are Hortense Ellis, sister of Alton who cut many smash hit on the island and Jennifer Lara, a lady who had a long career with Studio One, singing on countless sides until she sadly passed away earlier this year.

Studio One is the greatest label in the history of reggae and is the foundation of all reggae music. It's where virtually every world renowned Jamaican superstar started out, Bob Marley and The Wailers included. Under the guidance of the legendary Clement "Coxsone" Dodd the musicians at Studio One recorded hundreds of instrumental rhythms which still provide the backbone for many of the records made in Jamaica today.

Tracklisting: Aside
1. Claudette Mclean — Give Love Another Try
2. Jennifer Lara — My Man
3. The Soulettes — A Deh Pon Dem
4. Della Humphrey — Dream Land
5. Jennifer Lara — Consider Me

6. Denise Darlington — War No Right
7. Hortense Ellis — I'm Just A Girl
8. Angela Prince — No Bother With No Fuss

9. Jerry Jones — There's A Chance For Me
10. The Soulettes — King Street
11. Jennifer Lara — Tell Me Where
12. The Tonettes — I'll Give It To You

13. Marcia Griffiths — Tell Me Now
14. The Jay Tees — Come to me
15. Angela Prince — You A Fool Boy
16. Jennifer Lara — I am In love
Release Date: 2022
Label: Soul Jazz Records
Genre: Funk/Soul, Reggae, Rocksteady, Soul
Warengruppe: DOLP

0 von 0 Bewertungen

Geben Sie eine Bewertung ab!

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen mit dem Produkt mit anderen Kunden.